Digital Marketing Masterclass Bucharest, 27 February 2014 Page 1
© Emarketeers 2007
About me
http://www.linkedin.com/in/vanderbeek
27/02/2014
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© Engage 2013
About me
http://twitter.com/remcovanderbeek
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About Engage
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The Internet has changed
Internet users
2002
2012
569 mln
2.27 bln
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The Internet has changed
Websites
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2002
2012
3 mln
555 mln Page 6
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The Internet has changed
Daily internet usage
2002
2012
46 min.
4 hrs.
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The Internet has changed
Page load time
2002
2012
16 sec.
6 sec.
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The Internet has changed
Internet Explorer
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2002
2012
95%
39% Page 9
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The Internet has changed
Average search query length in words
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2002
2012
2,4
4,3 Page 10
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The Internet has changed
Major game changers
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The new consumer decision journey
Source: http://www.mckinsey.com/insights/marketing_sales/the_consumer_decision_journey#! 27/02/2014
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The new consumer decision journey
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Stimulus
ZMOT
FMOT
SMOT
Source: Google 27/02/2014
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Stimulus
ZMOT
FMOT
SMOT
67% of internet searches are caused by offline marketing campaigns (iProspect / Jupiter) • 44% will search for a brand name • 25% will search for a product name 27/02/2014
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Stimulus
ZMOT
FMOT
SMOT
Source: Google 27/02/2014
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Stimulus
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ZMOT
FMOT
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SMOT
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Stimulus
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ZMOT
FMOT
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SMOT
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Stimulus
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ZMOT
FMOT
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SMOT
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Stimulus
ZMOT
FMOT
SMOT
42% of European shoppers use mobile devices in-store 27/02/2014
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Stimulus
ZMOT
FMOT
SMOT
65% will postpone the purchase or change stores after doing a price check 27/02/2014
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Stimulus
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ZMOT
FMOT
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SMOT
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Stimulus
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ZMOT
FMOT
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SMOT
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Stimulus
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ZMOT
FMOT
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SMOT
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Stimulus
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ZMOT
FMOT
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SMOT
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Guess what...ZMOT also influences offline sales
ROPO: four out of ten people prefer to research online before purchasing offline (Google/GfK) Source: Google, Influencing Offline 27/02/2014
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Guess what…the same happens in B2B
Source: MLC’s 2012 Customer Purchase Decision-Making survey; MLC’s 2011 Customer Purchase Research survey.
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The new marketing challenge: catch customers upstream in their pre-purchase research (ZMOT)
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Marketing budgets switch to online
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Using the right bait
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Demand for digital skills
Source: Digital Marketing: Organisational Structures and Resourcing, Econsultancy (2011) 27/02/2014
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The new marketing skillset: part artist, part scientist
Analytical
Brand journalist
ROI orientation
Writing and communication skills
Conversion optimization
Visual content 27/02/2014
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Holistic digital marketing approach
ENGAGE
REACH
ACT
CONVERT
ATTRIBUTION Source: Nedstat
27 February 2014
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RACE model DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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The RACE Internet Scorecard
Reach
Act Digital Strategy
Engage
27 February 2014
Convert
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RACE KPI’s & metrics 1. Business objectives are defined…
2. …and translated into online goals 3. Goals are mapped to KPI‘s 4. KPI‘s are measured with metrics 5. Segmentation provides deep insights Source: http://matt-smedley.com/ 27 February 2014
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RACE model DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Paid, Owned, Earned
Advertising that is placed and bought by the marketer
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Branded communication that makes a direct connection between brand and consumer Page 38
Communication about a brand that is not managed by the marketer © Engage 2013
Paid, Owned, Earned
•Paid search •Display advertising •Affiliate marketing
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•Email marketing •SEO •Branded social channels
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•Direct traffic •Referrals •Social media
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Paid online media spend Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Paid online media spend Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Paid online media spend Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Mobile paid online media spend Romania (0,5% of total)
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Earned & Owned
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Earned & Owned
Source: www.socialbakers.com 27/02/2014
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Earned & Owned
Source: www.socialbakers.com 27/02/2014
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Earned & Owned
Source: www.socialbakers.com 27/02/2014
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Search Engine Marketing DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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SEO vs. PPC
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Question
What percentage of search traffic comes from organic clicks ? a) b) c) d) e)
80%
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SEO is still a very big deal !
85% of search clicks are from organic search results Source: Compete / Kantar: Seeing between the lines of the search and the click (2012)
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Question
What percentage of organic search clicks are from the first search results page ? a) b) c) d)
90%
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First SERP matters ! Very much so.
91,5% of search clicks are from the first search results page Source: Chitika Insights, Data Driven (June 2013) 27/02/2014
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Question
What percentage of organic search clicks are made from the top 3 organic search results ? a) b) c) d)
60%
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Top 3 search results account for 61,5% of all SEO traffic
Source: Chitika Insights, Data Driven (June 2013) 27/02/2014
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Example
32,5%
17,6% 11,4%
8,1% 6,1% 4,4%
3,5% 3,1% 2,6% © Engage 2013
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2,4%
50% of mobile sessions start with search
Source: http://andrewmartineau.com/how-many-organic-pages 27/02/2014
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Black hat SEO techniques were dead long ago
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Many ‘old’ white hat SEO techniques still work !
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Keyword research
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Competitor benchmarking
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Meta titles and descriptions • Meta title 65 characters • Meta description 150 characters • Unique for every page
Homepage
Other page
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Meta titles and descriptions
Better
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Digital asset optimisation
32,5%
• Use ALT tags on images 17,6% • Videos in search results
11,4%
41% higher click-through rate than plain-text have a
8,1% 6,1%
results (Source: ReelSEO)
4,4% 3,5%
3,1% 2,6% Page 64
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2,4%
Social media integration Where are the share buttons?
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Social media integration What do you want me to share ?
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Social media integration How it should be done
Title tag
Meta description
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Blogging: Author Rich Snippets • Add your site to the Google+ “Contributor to” section • Link each blog post to your Google+ profile • Add ?rel=author at the end of this link • Add your name as anchor text • Or declare authorship in the section or use Yoast Wordpress plugin
Source: http://www.swellpath.com/2013/09/author-rich-snippets-tutorial-2013/ 27/02/2014
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External link building Penguin algorithm update • April 2012 • Poor quality links • Over-optimised anchor text • Natural anchor text • Variety of thematic backlinks
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External link building Beware of poor quality (guest) blog posts and blog posts with optimised anchor text “Hi Jinoe, I work for Philips and it’s great to hear you’re using the Avent spoon for Gab’s first solid food. Did you know we also make a mini blender which is ideal for fruit and vegetables. I’ll leave you a link to our Solid Feeding Starter Set. Let me know how you get on.”
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External link building ” If you are publishing a press release or an article on your site and distribute it through a wire or through an article site, you must make sure to nofollow the links if those links are “optimized anchor text.” (Google) “Consumers have a hard task knowing which is the best iron to buy in order to care for clothes in their home…
Image Attachment – PerfectCare Steam Iron
YouTube Link
Philips PerfectCare irons have no temperature dial, which means that there’s no need to look at washing instructions on clothes any more. Visit the Steam Irons section of the Philips website for iron reviews and information.” 27/02/2014
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URL for info © Engage 2013
Content Panda algorithm update • February 2011 • Targets thin content, content farms and high bounce rates • No duplicate content • Use unique content to generate backlinks • No content spinning
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Many ‘old’ white hat SEO techniques still work !
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Panda & Penguin do make victims
Sources •
http://searchengineland.com/google-says-no-comment-on-why-interflora-was-penalized-149308
•
http://www.davidnaylor.co.uk/interflora-where-have-all-the-flowers-gone.html 27/02/2014
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Panda & Penguin do make victims
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...and then there was Hummingbird
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...and then there was Hummingbird
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Hummingbird explained
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Search 3.0: natural language search
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Social signals
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Social signals
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Google+ gets more weight in SERP’s • Google+ requires no crawling • Personalised search results – People who follow you on Google+ are more likely to see your search results. – People who follow anyone who +1's the content are more likely to see your search results.
• More Google+ post in search results, even in non-personalised search results (because Google looks at signals outside of Google+) Source: http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2307518/Google-SEO-How-Google-Impacts-Search-Results 27/02/2014
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Google+ gets more weight in SERP’s
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Google+ Romania
Source: www.socialbakers.com 27/02/2014
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Mobile user experience correlates with search rankings • Sites with a poor mobile user experience will be downgraded in search rankings • Especially when the search is performed from a mobile device
Source: http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2325063/6-SEO-Predictions-for-2014 27/02/2014
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Secure search to hit 100%
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Question
What metric(s) do you use to measure SEO success ? 27/02/2014
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Measuring SEO success
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Paid search
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Paid search in Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Paid search in Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Question
What percentage of paid search clicks are made from the top 3 paid search results ? a) b) c) d) e)
80%
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The 20/80 rule of paid search
Source: Compete / Kantar: Seeing between the lines of the search and the click 27/02/2014
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The 20/80 rule of paid search
Source: Compete / Kantar: Seeing between the lines of the search and the click 27/02/2014
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Search results presentation continues to change Google Romania
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Search results presentation continues to change Google UK
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Remember: 50% of mobile sessions start with search
Source: http://andrewmartineau.com/how-many-organic-pages 27/02/2014
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Search results presentation continues to change • Sponsored ads with images • Product Listing Ads • New Ad extentions (reviews) • New bidding options (weather)
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Optimisation Limited number of keywords per ad group Limit the use of broad match Use of negative keywords At least 2 different ads per ad group Use of ad extensions (sitelinks, social, call, location, review, product) Quality score Landing pages Remarketing campaign 27/02/2014
The biggest challenge for brands and agencies alike is to make nonbranded paid search profitable Page 99
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The economics of paid search • • • • • • • • • •
Impressions: # times an ad was shown 1.000.000 Click-through rate: # clicks / # impressions 2% Clicks: how often was the ad clicked 2.000 Average CPC: cost / # click 0,50 Cost: total advertising budget spent 1.000 Conversion rate: # conversions / # clicks 5% Conversion: how many conversions were generated 50 Average conversion value: 100 Total conversion value 5.000 Gross margin per conversion: (revenue-cost) / # conversions
= (5.000 – 1.000) / 50 = 80 27/02/2014
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Should you bid for your own brand name?
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Should you bid for your own brand name? How many orders from Adwords do you loose when stopping branded search terms ?
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Should you bid for your own brand name?
…and how many orders do you gain in SEO ?
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Should you bid for competitor brand names ?
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Should you bid for competitor brand names ?
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Bing ads
Source: KISS Metrics
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Display Advertising DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Display advertising Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Display advertising Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Mobile display advertising Romania
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Classic embedded formats
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Embedded rich media formats, with or without video
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Video formats
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Social media formats: classic and native
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Question
What was the average click-through rate on banner ads in Eastern Europe during the last three months ? a) b) c) d)
< 0,1% 0,1% - 0,5% 0,5% - 1% > 1%
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Display advertising metrics
The average clickthrough rate on a banner in Eastern Europe during the last three months was 0,08%. 27/02/2014
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Display advertising metrics
“You are more likely to survive a plane crash than click on a banner ad.” Sources: Dave Chaffey, DoubleClick for Advertisers July 2010
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Postview metrics • Visitation to advertisers web site:
+72% • Likelihood of conducting a branded
search query:
+ 94%
• Lift in both online and offline sales
Source: comScore, How Online Advertising Works: Whither the Click in Europe?
A U.K. & European Perspective on the Latent Impact of Display Advertising
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Postview metrics
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Embedded formats
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Effectiveness of embedded formats
Doubleclick Display Benchmarks
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Effectiveness of embedded formats
Doubleclick Display Benchmarks
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The bigger, the better
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The bigger, the better
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Video formats
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Video formats
Source: IAB, AdEx Benchmark 2012
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Video formats
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In-stream Linear Ad presented before, in the middle of, or after the video content. • Pre-roll • Mid-roll • Post-roll
Source: Google/Doubleclick, Diplay BuisnessTrends 2012
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In-stream Non-Linear Ad runs concurrently with the video content so the users see the ad while viewing the content. Non-linear video ads can be delivered as text, graphical ads, or as video overlays.
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In-stream Companion Ads • Commonly text, display ads, rich media, or skins that wrap around the video experience. • These ads come in a number of sizes and shapes and typically run alongside or surrounding the video player.
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In-stream Companion Ads
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Benchmarking video click-through rates by format
Source: IAB / SKy
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Benchmarking video postview metrics by format
Source: IAB / SKy
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Benchmarking click-through rates by format
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Benchmarking postview metrics by format
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Display advertising models
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Real-time bidding explained • A user visits a website with a display advertising, a call is made by the exchange server supporting Real Time Bidding (RTB) to the Demand Side Platforms (DSP) or Ad Networks (Ad Exchange) to determine which advertiser gets to serve the ad. • Each user has an associated set of attributes, which is transferred from exchange server to the DSP and determines whether the user has the desired attributes (cookies) that the advertiser wants to target. • Based on the perceived value of this user, a bid is placed on this ad impression by relevant advertisers and the highest bidding advertiser gets the placement.
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Real-time bidding explained
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Affiliate marketing
Consumer
Affiliate website
Advertiser
Affiliate network
Product
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Social Media Marketing DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
A/B & Multivariate testing
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM Social CRM Customer Experience
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Social media display advertising
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Facebook newsfeed ads are hot
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Facebook RHS ads are not
?
?
?
?
?
?
? 27/02/2014
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Newsfeed ads are hot ! Allocate at least half of your Facebook budget to News Feed ads.
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...particularly on mobile
• 74 percent of monthly active users access Facebook from mobile devices. • Mobile-only News Feed ads have 187 percent higher CTR and 22 percent lower CPCs than desktop ads. • Mobile-only campaigns make a lot of sense. 27/02/2014
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Ad rotation
• Direct response campaigns: campaigns with ad rotation yielded 35 percent higher CTR and 34 percent lower cost per conversion versus campaigns without automated rotation. • Fan acquisition campaigns: campaigns with automated ad rotation saw 60 percent higher CTRs and 75 percent lower costs per fan versus campaigns without ad rotation. • Most used rotation strategies are changes in CTR and intraday rotation.
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Coming soon...Facebook video ads
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Custom audience targeting
• 14% lower CPCs and 64% lower cost per conversion than category or interest based targeting. • 3.87 times higher conversion rates than campaigns using demographic or category targeting options.
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The content alternative
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Email Marketing DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Just because it’s cheap doesn’t mean you should
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CRITICAL improvement
• • • •
Creative: design, layout, colours, CTA’s, HTML or text Relevance: how targeted is the campaign? Incentive: “What’s in it for me”? Timing: time of day, day of week, touch strategy, point in lifecycle
• Integration: brand / messaging consistency, integration with channels
• Copy: tone of voice, structure, hyperlinks and CTA’s • Attributes: header (subject line / from address), pre-header • Landing Page: design, messaging and location of landing page 27/02/2014
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Open rate optimisation 50% of readers decide to open an email based on the subject line alone
B
A 27/02/2014
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Open rate optimisation
B
A 27/02/2014
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Open rate optimisation
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Open rate optimisation
CTOR 34,8%
CTOR 39,1%
Rule of thumb: 80% text, 20% images 27/02/2014
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Open rate optimisation
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Open rate optimisation
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Click-through rate optimisation
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Click-through rate optimisation • No preheader • Centered header image and text • Layout shifts to single column design (images on top of text, rather than side-by-side) • Expanded links fit the entire width of the device
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Click-through rate optimisation
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Landing page optimisation
Conversion 4,2%
Conversion 3,7%
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Benchmarks
Open rate 20% - 40% Click-through rate 2% - 4% Source: http://mailchimp.com/resources/research/ema il-marketing-benchmarks/ 27/02/2014
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When is the right time to send email ? Time optimum varies in function of: • • • • •
B2C vs. B2B Industry Target audience Device External factors
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When is the right time to send email ?
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Deliverability
20% of opt-in email in Europe never makes it to the inbox • • • • • •
ISP filtering Email client filtering Spam traps False-positives List health (list buying?) Recipient interaction
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Data quality = offer + message + promotion Page 167
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What’s your Sender Reputation ?
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Dealing with Gmail tabs
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Email Marketing DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Exercise
What metrics should you use to measure reach ? 27/02/2014
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Marketing channel effectiveness
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REACH metrics
• Impressions • Traffic volume per channel • Traffic share per channel • Cost per channel • Search: brand vs. non-brand 27 February 2014
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Swim lane measurement
Source: Forrester Research, Inc.
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“14.8 touchpoints in average consumer electronics decision journey”
Source: Nedstat 27/02/2014
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What does your multi-channel landscape look like ?
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Multi-channel insights change the way online marketing budgets are allocated • A six-fold increase in SEO spend from being able to see the true contribution of natural search • A major increase in internal priority on web site changes to improve SEO rankings • A 30% saving in commission payments to CPA partners through accurate deduplication
• A three-fold increase in paid search spend on generic terms that attract customers higher up the path to a sale
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Conversion Rate Optimisation DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Make it easy
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Make it fast
Just One Second Delay In PageLoad Can Cause 7% Loss In Customer Conversions Source : http://www.tagman.com/mdp-blog/2012/03/just-one-second-delay-in-page-load-can-cause-7-loss-in-customerconversions/ 27/02/2014
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Make it fast
How fast should a website download ? a) b) c) d) e)
123– 4>5
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2 3 4 5
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Make it responsive / adaptive • Images are pre-optimised • Faster page load • Excellent performance across wide variety of devices • Does not require rebuilding • Images are downloaded and resized • Slower page load • Less performant across wide variety of devices • Requires rebuilding or a newly build site 27/02/2014
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Make it responsive / adaptive
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Make it intuitive
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Make it intuitive • Panel-based usability testing service that provides feedback from Testers regarding questions you ask them about your web site. • Including a Flash video of the tester talking about their interaction with the site + a written summary by the tester. • Tests are completed within one hour. • Pricing – $29 per test
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Make it work
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Make it a rich experience • • • •
Scrolling Less text Tiled browsing Big images
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Make it personal
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Personalisation: behaviour & history Inspire Me page is automatically filled with featured destinations that have a high likelihood of increasing conversion rates based upon attributes of each visitor : • • • • •
Planning days in advance of the trip Length of stay Number of people (adults and children) Last departure point (searched or booked) Last destination (searched or booked)
Source : Maximyser
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Personalisation: behaviour & history • Targeted “Inspire Me” campaign led to a 55% conversion rate improvement • 3.7% improvement in bookings Source : Maximyser
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Personalisation: social graph data
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Big Data personalisation
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Conversion optimisation rationale
“For every $100 spent on driving traffic to websites, companies spend only $1 converting that traffic into business.” (Forrester) 27/02/2014
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Conversion optimisation rationale
“Companies whose conversion rates have improved over the previous 12 months are using on average 26% more methods to improve conversion and 50% more ways to segment their visitors and customers than those companies whose conversion rates have not improved.” (E-consultancy) 27/02/2014
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On-the-fly analysis & testing
Reaction
Reporting
Monitor reaction of visitors to every element
Results vs objectives
Action
Analysis
Implementation of improvements
Data analysis to identify points of improvement
Decision Rational decision about improvements
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Source: Nedstat
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Analysing & testing = conversion Issue: many customers who clicked the 'Buy Now' button on the company's site did not complete the transaction. Cause: "It confused some customers who filled out the 'Company' field with their bank name.“ After putting in their bank name, these customers then went on to enter the address of their bank, rather than their home address, in the address field. Result: "After we realised that we just went onto the site and deleted that field overnight there was a step function [change], resulting in $12m of profit a year, simply by deleting a field. 27/02/2014
Source: silicon.com
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Analysing & testing = conversion Big drop off in step 2 of the conversion process
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Analysing & testing = conversion Use click path analysis to understand where visitors disappear to
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Analysing & testing = conversion Analyse and simulate purchase process to identify bugs & hurdles
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Analysing & testing = conversion Fix bug and enjoy improved conversion
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The perfect flow
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Conversion optimisation rationale
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Remarketing A surfer visits www.your-site.ro and leaves the site without converting. A retargeting cookie is set. When the surfer visits other websites (e.g. Hotmail) banners from the Your Site are served.
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Remarketing A surfer performs a search on Google for “hotel Bucharest”. A retargeting cookie is set. When the surfer visits other websites (e.g. Hotmail, Telegraaf etc.) banners from the Crown Plaza hotel Bucharest is served.
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Remarketing • • • •
Consider the time span between first visit and purchase Don’t retarget visitors who already converted Don’t set retargeting rules too broad Select provider based on inventory, service, display advertising model (CPM / CPC / CPA)
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Remarketing
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Shopping cart abandonment • A visitor started the conversion process on www.your-site.ro but did not complete it.
• In the process the visitor left an email address. • Shortly after leaving the site the visitor receives an email with the content of the shopping basket asking him/her to complete the purchase. 27/02/2014
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Shopping cart abandonment
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Shopping cart abandonment
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Customer surveys
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Customer surveys
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Customer surveys
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A/B & Multivariate Testing DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Question
What is the average online conversion rate ? a) b) c) d) e) f)
5%
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The Amazon way
•conversion rate : 12,8% •200 live tests at any time Source : Nielsen/NetRatings
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A/B testing (split run) • One element at a time => lengthy • …therefore often smaller gains • Interactions between multiple elements cannot be tested Vendors
+ most MVT vendors
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M V T 27 February 2014
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MVT analytics
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Multivariate testing Advantages
Downsides
• Quickly test many small page elements to understand individual effects on conversion rate • Measure interaction effects between independent elements to find synergic effects • Insightful analytics about interaction effects
• Requires many more variable combinations to be run than A/B • Requires more traffic to reach statistical significance than A/B • Gives approximated results (Taguchi) or requires exponentially more traffic (Full Factorial)
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Fractional factorial multivariate testing (Taguchi) • Does not test all of the combinations of options in your test. • Instead tests a smaller sample of combinations thus allowing the test to run a shorter length to get your results. • Maths are applied to determine results based on this small sample. Vendors
+ most full factorial vendors 27/02/2014
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Full factorial multivariate testing • Tests all combinations of the options in your test • Takes longer than fractional-factorial since it does go through all of the possible combinations to deliver the results.
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A/B or MVT ? • • • • • •
Test duration to get to 95% confidence MVT methodology : Fractional or Full Factorial Integration with WA tool Ease of implementation Ease of interpretation Cost
Resource: http://www.whichmvt.com/#
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KwikFit insurance • Varied page layout and call to action button style without changing offers and text copy. • Four variations were created and tested against the default page which was served to live visitors as a control. • The winning approach delivered a 103% increase in clickthroughs on quote buttons.
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Laura Ashley •
Multiple approaches to the layout of the shopping bag page were tested with live visitors.
•
Elements tested included: – – –
the addition of product images to the page the style of and text used in call to action buttons the presentation of pricing information
•
The winning page increased the number of visitors clicking through to the checkout by 11% and significantly increased the overall sales conversion rate.
•
Main changes: a highlighted proceed button and the removal of distractions from above and below the cart details area.
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Cancer Research UK
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Cancer Research UK • Cancer Research UK drives traffic to its website where visitors can sign up to become regular donors by monthly Direct Debit. • Multiple approaches to the copy and layout of the page were designed and tested with live visitors. Changes tested included: – different styles and positioning of the text copy around the form – locating the form in different areas of the page – changes in layout and alternative form validation mechanisms
• At the conclusion of the test, the winning donations page had delivered 4.11% more confirmed donations.
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Act & Convert DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Exercise
What metrics should you use to measure act & convert ? 27/02/2014
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ACT & CONVERT metrics
• Bounce rate • Page load time • Dwell time • Funnel starts • Funnel completions
• Task completion score 27 February 2014
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ACT & CONVERT metrics
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Testing quizz
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Planet Amex: which version generates 48% uplift in phone calls ?
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Photobox: which version increased sign-ups by 14% ?
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Sytropin: which version generates 50% conversion uplift?
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Yuppiechef: which landing page version increased wedding registry sign-ups from 3% to 6%?
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Dell: Which Category Page Increased Sales by 13,3%?
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Express Watches: Which Version Got 107% More Online Sales?
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Which Internal Site Search Functionality Got 49% More Purchases?
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ASDA: Which layout reduced homepage abandons by an average 19%?
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Which Ecommerce Product Page Template Increased Add-to-Cart Clicks by 10%?
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Which Philips Norelco Creative Got 79.4% More ‘Buy Now’ Clicks?
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Which Thomson Reuters’ onsite search function increased searches by 7.59%?
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The moment of truth
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Planet Amex: which version generates 48% uplift in phone calls ?
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Photobox: which version increased sign-ups by 14% ?
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Sytropin: which version generates 50% conversion uplift ?
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Yuppiechef: which landing page version increased wedding registry sign-ups from 3% to 6%?
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Dell: Which Category Page Increased Sales by 13,3%?
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Express Watches: Which Version Got 107% More Online Sales?
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Which Internal Site Search Functionality Got 49% More Purchases?
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ASDA: Which layout reduced homepage abandons by an average 19%?
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Which Ecommerce Product Page Template Increased Add-to-Cart Clicks by 10%?
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Which Philips Norelco Creative Got 79.4% More ‘Buy Now’ Clicks?
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Which Thomson Reuters’ onsite search function increased searches by 7.59%?
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Content Marketing DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Brand journalism Coca Cola style Content marketing the Coca Cola way 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7.
Why Should I Care ? Element of surprise ? Universal appeal ? Generates interest ? New & innovative ? Different from competition ? Systemically measured ?
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Reviews • 64% of consumers read online reviews when purchasing technology items (Graham Charlton / Econsultancy)
• Reviews offers fresh and unique content (spider food) • Keyword opportunity: “product name” + “review” • Rich snippets such as star ratings increase visibility in SERP’s.
“Bad reviews improve conversions by 67% “ (Reevoo)
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Infographics
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Video
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Video • More than 6 million video views within 5 days after they were posted on YouTube and on Blendtec’s website. • 0,5 million YouTube followers • 150 million-plus views on YouTube (10 million-plus for many videos) • After 4 years of this campaign, Blendtec retail sales have increased by over 700%.
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Content authority • Add your site to the Google+ “Contributor to” section • Link each blog post to your Google+ profile • Add ?rel=author at the end of this link • Add your name as anchor text • Or declare authorship in the section or use Yoast Wordpress plugin
Source: http://www.swellpath.com/2013/09/author-rich-snippets-tutorial-2013/ 27/02/2014
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Long form content
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Short form content
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Increased use of personas to improve content targeting
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Increased use of personas to improve content targeting
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Increased focus on the ROI of content
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Increased focus on the ROI of content
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Increased focus on the ROI of content
Conversion all visitors: 6,8%
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Increased focus on the ROI of content
Segmented analysis Conversion of visitors who did NOT see content: 6,2%
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Increased focus on the ROI of content
Segmented analysis Conversion of visitors who DID see content: 13,9%
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E-CRM DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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E-CRM
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E-CRM
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Next best offer
Visitors who searched for this, also searched for that
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Next best offer
Visitors who looked at this product, also looked at that product 27 February 2014
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Next best offer
Visitors who bought this, also bought that
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E-CRM
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Social CRM DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Where do social media fit into the organisation?
Let’s get social
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Social CRM use cases
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Let’s get social
How do we measure our success? 27/02/2014
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Social CRM success measurement
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Let’s get social
What does our audience look like and how should we engage them? 27/02/2014
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Every good conversation starts with listening Conversations about: • • • •
your brand your competitors product names names of people
• Tone ? • Influencers ?
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How many conversations ?
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About what ?
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About what ?
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About what ?
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Tone ?
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Who are the influencers ?
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Who are the influencers ?
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Listening informs action
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Measuring action impact
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Social marketing response
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13 January 2012
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13 January 2012
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Social campaign tracking
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Social campaign tracking
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Social sales response
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Social sales response
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Social lead generation
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Social lead generation 3 million USD sales through direct links on Twitter alone (2009)
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Social lead generation
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Social lead generation • Special alloys manufacturer • 14 engineer blogs • Leads, prospects, conversions and sales increased by double digits • Customers get to know the company’s employees personally
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Measuring social sales
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Rapid service response
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Rapid service response
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Rapid service response
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Rapid service response
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Rapid service response
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Rapid service response
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Rapid service response
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Rapid service response
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Peer-to-peer armies
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Peer-to-peer armies
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Crowdsourced R&D
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Crowdsourced R&D
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Crowdsourced R&D • Flavor “Connect” was developed by the company’s Facebook fanbase • One Facebook fan won $5,000 for her role in development of the new flavor. • Fans could develop all aspects of the product, from selecting the flavor to designing the packaging and naming the product. • Result: >2 million VitaminWater Facebook fans participated in the new product development effort. 27/02/2014
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Crowdsourced R&D
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Collaboration
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Collaboration • Chordiant Mesh community where Chordiant employees, developers, customers and partners collaborate to speed up the product development process. • Over 30 companies participating from more than 20 countries • 1,000+ individuals contributing • 6,000+ discussion forum posts • 15 collaborative product releases 27/02/2014
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Collaboration
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Seemless customer experience
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Seemless customer experience
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VIP experience
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VIP experience
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CEX
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Social CRM DEVICES
REACH Search Engine Marketing
Display Advertising Social Media Marketing Email Marketing
ACT & CONVERT Conversion Rate Optimisation
ENGAGE Content Marketing
E-CRM A/B & Multivariate testing
Social CRM
DATA & ANALYTICS 27/02/2014
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Exercise
What metrics should you use to measure engagement ? 27/02/2014
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ENGAGE metrics
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Thanks for listening & participating !
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Contact
http://www.linkedin.com/in/vanderbeek http://twitter.com/remcovanderbeek
[email protected]
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